News & Events

The Commission is in the process of updating some of the content on this website in light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.

City partnerships - call for application

Share this Post:

Join the North-South MED exchange & replication programme to connect with other local leaders and, together, make your buildings more efficient!

The Efficient Buildings Community is supporting six city partnerships: municipalities from the South-Eastern shore of the Mediterranean sea will have the opportunity to connect with peers from the Northern sharing the challenges of energy transition in the public building sector.


How can substantial energy savings be achieved in public buildings? How can the energy management be improved? Which are the best tools-methods for future-oriented investments in building renovation?


How to foster onsite local renewable energy production to support the regional economy and reduce energy imports?


Guided by a group of experts, city partnerships will learn how to answer all these questions through the development, fine-tuning and implementation of successful measures in the field of energy efficient public buildings.


Twinning activities


Each city partnership will organise 2 individual partnership meetings, one in each city. In between the meetings there will be regular telephone conferences facilitated by one of the Efficient Buildings Community's partner.


Additionally, city partnership may participate in the Efficient Buildings Community activities, with special meeting slots: 2 annual conferences, 4 capacity-building workshops and 7 thematic webinars.


Travel and accommodation costs to the partnership meetings and capacity building workshops will be covered (1-2 persons per meeting).


Eligible territories


South Shore: Algeria, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia and Turkey


North Shore: Croatia, Cyprus, France (Corse, Languedoc-Roussillon, Midi-Pyrénées, Provence Alpes Côte d’Azur, Rhône-Alpes), Greece, Italy (whole country excluding Trentino-Alto Adige), Portugal (Algarve, Alentejo, Lisboa), Slovenia, Spain (Andalusia, Aragon, Catalonia, Balearic islands, Murcia, Valencia).


Follow the link to read how to participate!