News & Events

The Commission is in the process of updating some of the content on this website in light of the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union. If the site contains content that does not yet reflect the withdrawal of the United Kingdom, it is unintentional and will be addressed.

Energy Community Secretariat refers ALBANIA, BOSNIA and HERZEGOVINA, and FYR of MACEDONIA to Ministerial Council for failure to adopt National Renewable Energy Action Plans

Share this Post:

On 12 May 2015, the Energy Community Secretariat submitted to the attention of the Ministerial Council three Reasoned Requests as the next step in the dispute settlement cases against Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.


In the Reasoned Requests, the Secretariat seeks a decision from the Ministerial Council, establishing that the Contracting Parties concerned failed to fulfil their obligations stemming from Energy Community law, by failing to adopt and notify to the Secretariat their respective National Renewable Energy Action Plans within the prescribed time limit, as requested by Directive 2009/28/EC, i.e. by 30 June 2013. The decision will be taken at the Ministerial Council on 16 October 2015 in Tirana, Albania.





On 11 February 2014, the Energy Community Secretariat sent Opening Letters to Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Ukraine for failure to comply with Energy Community law related to renewable energy. The Secretariat, acting under Article 90 of the Treaty, notes that these five Contracting Parties have not adopted and submitted to the Secretariat a National Renewable Energy Action Plan. The deadline for adoption and notification to the Secretariat expired on 30 June 2013.


The present cases are the first ones initiated by the Secretariat in the area of renewable energy.



For further information, please visit the relevant Energy Community website:


You can find further information on the Energy Community here.